Mexico Wins “Tourism Board of the Year” Award by World Luxury Travel Network Virtuoso

On August 15, 2012 by MexicoToday

The Mexico Tourism Board was named “Tourism Board of the Year” by Virtuoso, the world’s most important luxury tourism network. The Mexico Tourism Board was recognized for the work performed and results achieved in promotion strategies, market diversification, advertising campaigns and partnerships with major travel agents worldwide. The recognition was given at Virtuoso Travel Week, one of the most recognized trade shows in the international luxury travel market which took place in Las Vegas, Nevada. Mexico’s Secretary of Tourism Gloria Guevara Manzo accepted the award.

“Mexico has been an integral part of the Virtuoso destination family throughout the years and continues to show its commitment to this network from the highest levels,” said Virtuoso president and CEO Matthew D. Upchurch. “Mexico is a unique destination, close to my heart, and I am thrilled to see that our members and their clients share my passion for the diverse beauty, proud heritage, stunning cuisine and a rich experience Mexico offers upscale travelers,” he added.

Virtuoso Travel week was attended by more than four thousand industry specialists and leaders from 85 countries and 350 thousand businesses, Mexico was the main highlight of the event in getting this highly praised award.

Photo: From left, Rodolfo Lopez-Negrete, chief operating officer of the Mexico Tourism Board and Undersecretary of Tourism; Matthew Upchurch, chairman and CEO of Virtuoso; Mexico Secretary of Tourism Gloria Guevara Manzo; and president of Virtuoso Kristi Jones pose with the Virtuoso Tourism Board of the Year award during the Destination Showcase dinner on Monday, August 13, 2012 in Las Vegas. (David Becker/AP Images for Mexico Tourism)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>